Opinion: Ex-cnn Reporter: My Struggle With Panic Attacks – Cnn.com

Instead of getting better, it seemed to be getting worse. I withdrew, and couldn’t be by myself without thinking the panic attacks would send me — in my term — “cycling out of control.” I remember taking a writing test at CNN in 1989 and having three punishing panic attacks that were so bad I almost got up and walked out of the building. Professional support made things get better, but the attacks never completely went away. Certain situations and environments could take me back and an attack would come on, my heart feeling as though it would burst through my chest, worried that I would just collapse on the ground gasping for breath while sweat was trickling down the side of my face. OK, now imagine that happening while you’re getting ready to do an on-camera interview, or tethered to a live shot, or the very worst — sitting in the anchor chair. It wasn’t just happening to me, it was happening to me in front of millions of people. I have been a journalist a long time. Along the way I have picked up what I consider a nice collection of awards and honors, and reported on everything imaginable: hurricanes, earthquakes, floods, fires, wars, elections, you name it.
For the original version, visit http://www.cnn.com/2014/03/06/opinion/callebs-panic-attacks/index.html

And, even after the acute portion of the attack is over, we stay physiologically revved for a period of time. Sometimes, I feel better an hour after a panic attack. Other times, I dont feel well again until I get a full nights sleep. It depends on a lot of factors like the severity of the initial attack, my overall stress level, the environment Im in, and so on. So, a few hours after an attack, if our bodies are still experiencing the lingering effects of panic hormones, might that help to trigger a secondary attack? An aftershock, if you will?
For the original version, visit http://blogs.psychcentral.com/panic/2011/10/panic-attack-humor-my-panic-attack-is-having-a-panic-attack/

Panic Disorder and Anxiety – EverydayHealth.com

Panic disorder shows generally the true inability to defend oneself against that kind of universal anxiety. It’s anxiety to the Nth degree.” Panic disorder is usually described as people having particular responses to certain kinds of events or circumstances in which they feel extreme anxiety and physical symptoms, said Dr. Goodstein. People with panic disorder often think that they are dying, having a heart attack, or are going crazy. And the physical symptoms often look like a serious health problem and should be evaluated, according to Goodstein. “The classic panic disorder presentation is the patient who arrives in an emergency room with chest pain,” said Goodstein. Someone having a panic attack will have difficulty breathing, be sweating, and look like he’s having a heart attack.
For the original version, visit http://www.everydayhealth.com/emotional-health/anxiety/panic-attacks-and-panic-disorder.aspx

Standard

Leave a Reply

